Is your property in tax sale? Find out why.
Why does the Trustee sell properties? How do I redeem my property sold at tax sale?
How do I get out of tax sale?
Interested in buying a property from tax sale?
View list of properties available for tax sale View schedule of tax sales
View list of properties removed from tax sale How does the process work?
Properties Under Redemption
Interested in buying other county owned properties?
View list of properties owned by Shelby County Real Estate Office

Why does the Trustee sell property?
STEP 1: Tennessee law charges the Trustee with collecting real property taxes.

T.C.A. §8-11-104 states, "It is the duty of the county Trustee to: ... collect all the ...county taxes on property."

STEP 2: Tennessee law also dictates how the Trustee will collect real property taxes.

T.C.A. §67-5-2405(a) states, "... the Trustee ...shall ... file suits ... for the collection of delinquent land taxes due the ... county ... which taxes are declared a lien upon the land."

STEP 3: Finally, Tennessee law dictates how the Trustee should enforce the lien created in STEP 2 above.

T.C.A. §67-5-2501 states, "The court shall order a sale of the land for cash, subject to the equity of redemption."

Back to top

How do I get out of tax sale?
1. Pay all delinquent taxes through the tax year initiating the sale.

You can pay your delinquent taxes by mail or by coming into the office. Up to 40 days prior to the tax sale, payments can be made using cash, checks, credit cards or money orders. After that point (39 days or less prior to the sale), payments can only be made with verified funds in the form of cash, cashier's check, or money order.

You can pay your delinquent taxes with cash, cashier's check, or money order up until 4:30 pm on the last business day before the tax sale.
* Note: The Trustee does not accept any payments on the day of the tax sale.

2. Need more information? Call the Trustee.

Tel: (901) 222-0200 press option 4    Mon - Fri 8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Back to top

How do I redeem my property sold at tax sale?
The redemption period is within one (1) year from the date of the order of confirmation of sale.

File a petition to redeem with the Chancery Court and pay all required funds.
* Note : Please seek the advice of an attorney to insure the petition is filed in a proper and timely fashion.

How much:
In general, the amount(s) required are:
   1- The full minimum bid plus 10% of the final bid at tax sale.
   2- $58.80 filing fee.
   3- The court may require additional compensation to the purchaser for maintenance of the property.

Back to top

How does the process work?
How do I purchase property at tax sale?

Tax sales are conducted in the Shelby County Commission Chambers, 1st Floor, 157 Poplar Avenue and are open to the public. On the date of the sale, anyone* wishing to bid will need to arrive early for registration.

Registration begins at 8:30 am and ends at 10:00 am; each tax sale begins at 10:00 am. A bidder  must register by 10:00 am in order to bid on property, complete a bidder information form, and receive a bidder card. A bidder card is necessary to participate in the sale.

The highest bidder on a property must remain after the sale so that Chancery Court can verify the bid amount. No deposit is required at that time.

* Employees or relatives of employees of the Shelby County Trustee's Office are not eligible to bid.

What are the responsibilities of a bidder?

Prior to the Tax Sale: A bidder is strongly advised to research properties for potential purchase. This includes, but is not limited to, previewing the properties and looking up the legal descriptions available on the Shelby County Register's website.

After the Tax Sale: A bidder  must make full payment within 24 hours (next business day) in the form of cashier's check, money order, or cash to the Chancery Court located at 140 Adams St, Memphis, TN 38103.

What does the minimum bid represent?

The minimum bid at tax sale is the total amount of city and county taxes owed, along with any fees associated with tax sale. These fees may include court costs, attorney fees, and service costs.

How does a bidder take title to the property?

A Clerk and Master's Deed to the property may be requested at any time AFTER the order confirming the Sale has been entered by calling the Chancery Court Clerk and Master's office at (901) 545-3864. In order to transfer title to the property, a purchaser must register the deed in the office of the Shelby County Register, 1075 Mullins Station, Suite W165, Memphis TN 38134.

When is the sale confirmed?

The confirmation date is typically 30-45 days after the date of sale. Contact Shelby County Chancery Court for further information regarding confirmation of the sale at (901) 545-3864.

What are my rights after purchasing property at tax sale?

For bidder rights and obligations after tax sale, consult an independent attorney. 

What if someone redeems the property I purchased at tax sale?

The court will return the bid amount, along with 10% per annum on your bid (calculated from the date of sale until the petition to redeem is filed).  All requests for reimbursement of maintenance and/or improvement costs incurred by the purchaser are granted at the discretion of the Court. Seek the advice of an independent attorney before making any improvements to the property or to file the necessary petition requesting reimbursement for incurred costs.

Back to top